top of page
  • Writer's pictureRobert Schuerger II

What Happens in Indiana If You Get in an Accident Without Insurance? | Knowing the State Laws

Operating a vehicle without a valid insurance policy can have serious repercussions for the driver. It could lead to hefty fines and license suspension and may affect the victim's chances of recovering compensation.


Schuerger Shunnarah Trial Attorneys have deep knowledge of the car insurance laws in the state and how they can impact a victim's chances of recovery.


Those who have suffered injuries in a car accident in Indianapolis, Indiana, should reach out to them to discuss their case and pursue legal action to hold the at-fault driver accountable for their loss. They can also provide more insight to What is the bodily injury limit in Indiana?


Understanding Indiana Car Insurance Laws

Understanding Indiana Car Insurance Laws


When it comes to fault-based states like Indiana, the injured victims may be able to recover compensatory damages, including medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering, by pursuing a personal injury claim against the negligent party's insurance company.


In Indiana, most drivers have auto insurance to protect themselves financially in the event of car accidents. A driver's insurance policy covers the economic damages and non-economic losses up to the limits mentioned in the policy.


Drivers must have minimum liability insurance coverage to drive legally in Indiana, and these include the following:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person;

  • $50,000 for total bodily injury or death liability; and

  • $25,000 for property damage.

Additional Coverage Options in Indiana


Although drivers must maintain minimum coverage limits, it may not be enough to cover the damages in a serious car accident.


When the limit runs out, the negligent party may be financially responsible for the remaining damages, which is why purchasing additional coverage is essential.


Some of the coverage options that the drivers may consider in Indiana include the following:


Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD)

If an uninsured motorist is responsible for the damages caused, the UMPD liability coverage may cover the damage to the other driver's vehicle and the property inside the car at the time of the car accident.

However, it's essential to understand that the UMPD coverage may not cover the damages arising from hit-and-run incidents involving uninsured motorists.


Medical Payments Coverage

Unlike UMPD policy that covers the damages in a car accident involving a negligent uninsured motorist, the medical payments coverage pays for the medical expenses of the injured driver and passenger, regardless of who is at fault.


Collision Coverage

Collision coverage is an excellent add-on to one's insurance policy, as it pays for the repair bills of the policyholder's vehicle up to the car's actual cash value. It may cover collisions and hit-and-runs.


Comprehensive Coverage

Comprehensive coverage helps cover the damages to a vehicle arising from events that are outside the policyholder's control. These may include theft, fire, vandalism, and natural disasters, among others.


Maintaining Proof of Insurance


Indiana drivers must carry a certificate of insurance to drive in the state legally. If pulled over, a police officer may request to see proof of insurance that isn't expired.


What Happens in Indiana If You Get in an Accident Without Insurance?


When a driver gets into a t bone car accident in Indiana, and they do not have an active insurance policy, there may be significant penalties. Some of these may include the following:


SR-22 Form

Drivers without insurance in Indiana may have to carry an SR-22 (a certificate of future compliance), and their insurance company may have to file the form with the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).


There are certain requirements under the SR-22 that the drivers must fulfill, and these may vary from one individual to another.


First Violation

If an uninsured driver gets caught or crashes into another vehicle in Indiana, they may face up to 90 days of license suspension.


Upon getting their license suspended, the driver must carry an SR-22 form, proof of future financial responsibility.


Second or Subsequent Violations

Penalties for a second violation in Indiana are much more severe than violating the car insurance laws in the state for the first time. The driver may face a one-year license suspension, carry an SR-22, and pay a fine of up to $500.


In cases involving a third or subsequent violation of minimum insurance coverages, the driver may face a one-year license suspension, carry an SR-22, and pay a maximum fine of $1,000.


Typically, the drivers caught violating the car insurance laws must carry an SR-22 for at least one year. However, for cases involving third or subsequent violations, the driver must maintain an SR-22 for at least five years.


What Should Injured Victims Do If Uninsured Drivers Hit Them in Indiana?


When an individual purchases car insurance in Indiana, they often include uninsured motorist insurance (UM) coverage. This covers the medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages incurred by the injured victim due to the uninsured driver's negligence.


An injured victim with uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage can file a personal injury claim with their insurance company to recover the damages incurred after getting into a car accident with a driver without insurance in Indiana.


However, the affected party must also submit evidence to show that the other driver is at fault.

Even if the injured victims submit the necessary proof to their insurance companies, the insurers may make it challenging for them to recover the damages.


In such situations, it's essential to seek the help of an experienced auto accident law firm in Indianapolis in Indiana.

Suppose the injured victim does not have uninsured motorist coverage and gets into a car accident with an uninsured driver. In that case, they may still be able to pursue a personal injury claim against the at-fault party.


However, since the at-fault driver does not have the money to purchase car insurance, it's highly likely that they may not have the financial means to settle the personal injury lawsuit.


What Is Indiana's No Pay No Play Statute?

What Is Indiana's No Pay No Play Statute?


In most states, if the at-fault driver is at fault for the car accident, the injured victim may be able to recover monetary damages. However, Indiana has a no-pay, no-play statute, which can affect one's right to recovery in certain situations.


Under the no pay, no-play statute, the at-fault drivers do not have to cover the non-economic damages caused by their negligence if the other party does not have auto insurance.


This statute applies explicitly to uninsured motorists who do not have a minimum car insurance coverage and have prior violations.


Schuerger Shunnarah Trial Attorneys Can Help Navigate the Indiana State Law!


Those who have suffered injuries in a car accident due to another's negligence in Indianapolis, Indiana, should call to schedule a free consultation with Schuerger Shunnarah Trial Attorneys. They can assess the facts surrounding the case and help the affected party navigate the car insurance laws in Indiana to ensure maximum compensation!

bottom of page